The PEIC covers innovation from the wafer technology up to the final application (electrical or mechanical actuation), with a multi-disciplinary team consisted of experts in solid-state physics, electronics, electrical machines and actuators, mechatronics, electromagnetic compatibility, reliability, hardware security and data communications.

The PEIC researchers belong to five departments: Department of Energy (DENERG), Department of Electronics and Telecommunications (DET), Department of Applied Science and Technology (DISAT), Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (DIMEAS) and Department of Control and Computer Engineering (DAUIN). The PEIC represents a common framework of knowledge, design, synchronized simulation tools and testing facilities. The Phd students working inside PEIC have two supervisors belonging to two different cultural areas and will be trained with “hands on” approach to produce skilled experts in power electronics.

The PEIC focus is on 3D eMobility (land, air, water), integration of renewables into the grid, high efficient power conversion for industrial applications.